Black Caps name uncapped trio in squad to face Bangladesh

New Zealand

Uncapped trio Devon Conway, Will Young and Daryl Mitchell have earned their maiden ODI Black Caps call-ups for the three-match series against Bangladesh, starting 20 March.

Regular skipper and star batsman Kane Williamson has been ruled out with an elbow injury. The injury to the captain has opened the door for either Conway or Young to slip into the top order in Williamson’s absence.

Latham leads

Opening batsman Tom Latham will lead the Black Caps side without the services of Lockie Ferguson (back) and Colin de Grandhomme (ankle) who were not considered for selection due to injury.

Latham should resume his highly fruitful partnership with Martin Guptill at the top of the New Zealand order. The stand-in skipper has led New Zealand on six previous occassions in ODI cricket, seeing them to victory in five of those matches.

Black Caps chief selector Gavin Larsen was thrilled to get the one-day side back together after a one-year absence from the format for New Zealand.

“Devon, Will and Daryl are quality players and have enjoyed impressive seasons so far, and we’re looking forward to giving them further opportunities to develop their game at this level.

“Whilst it’s disappointing to lose a player of Kane’s class, Tom has proven experience in taking the reins and I know he’s excited to lead the side.”

New Zealand have picked just one spinner in Mitchell Santner with Ish Sodhi missing out despite being named man of the series as the Black Caps clinched their first-ever T20I series win over Australia in February.

“The bowling group is a strong and experienced one and will be well complemented by the two seam-bowling all-rounders in Jimmy (Neesham) and Daryl.

“We’ve also taken the decision to carry just the one spinner in the squad, which is a reflection of the venues for this series and expected pitch conditions.

“It’s great to have Bangladesh on our shores and we know they’ll bring a lot to the series.”

The first ODI will be held at University Oval in Dunedin on 20 March.

Black Caps ODI Squad

Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (c) (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young