Black Caps spot in World Test Championship final confirmed

World Test Championship final

The Black Caps have become the first team to qualify for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship final.

The postponement of the Test series between South Africa and Australia means New Zealand have become the first team to qualify for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship final to be held in England from June 18 to 22, with June 23 as the reserve day. 

New Zealand are currently ranked second on the ICC WTC table with a points percentage of 70 per cent, which has secured them a place in the final. They will be joined by either India, England, or Australia with the second spot being determined by the outcome of the India v England four-match Test series due to start on Friday. 

To book their place, India will have to win the series against England by 2-1, 2-0, 3-1, 3-0 or 4-0, margin. For England to qualify and join New Zealand, they will have to win the series against India by 3-1, 3-0 or 4-0 margin. 

Australia can still qualify for the much-anticipated ICC WTC final if the series between India and England ends up as a drawn series, or if India win the series 1-0 or England win it by 1-0, 2-1 or 2-0 margin.

Who will face the Black Caps in World Test Championship final

India, England and Australia are still in the hunt for the other place in the WTC final.

Below are the qualification scenarios for the final leg of the ICC World Test Championship.


Remaining matches: Four home Tests against England

With the highest PCT, India are sitting pretty at the top of the WTC standings. To make it to the final of the tournament however, they will have to win with a minimum margin of 2-0 against England. The requirement will remain the same even if they lose a Test in the series.

These are the series scorelines that will see India qualifying for the final: 2-0, 2-1, 3-0, 3-1, 4-0. Any other result, however, and India will not make it through.


With the postponement of their proposed tour of South Africa, Australia’s fate will depend on other results, although there are quite a few permutations and combinations that will see them make the final.

Australia can make the final if:

England win by 0-1, 0-2, and 1-2

India win by 1-0

The series ends in a draw


Remaining matches: Four Tests in India

England have a tall task ahead of them, if they are to make the final of the WTC. A series victory is a necessity for them to make it through, but even that might prove insufficient.

England will need to win at least three matches in the four-Test series to make it through, and meet New Zealand in the final. In essence, that would mean a series victory by the margin of 0-4, 0-3 or 1-3.