Brathwaite earns T20 captaincy


World T20 hero, Carlos Brathwaite, has been handed the West Indies captaincy for the upcoming T20I series against India in the United States.

Previous captain Darren Sammy, revealed he had been axed in a video posted on his Facebook page and earlier reports had indicated Brathwaite would be his replacement.

The appointment has now been confirmed by the West Indies Cricket Board.

The West Indies squad includes 11 members of the triumphant World T20 squad but Sammy has failed to make the cut.

WICB Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said: "Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,

"We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches."

Browne has claimed Sammy's axing is due to performance but the former skipper believes it is down to him speaking out against the board.

Sammy told Caribbean sports channel Sportsmax: "It's solely because of what I said after the World Cup,

Sammy averaged 42.40 in the recent CPL with a high score of 59 and took 8 wickets, he has indicated that he is not retiring from T20 cricket.

West Indies T20 squad: Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite (c), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine