Cartwright earns maiden OZ call

Australia’s National Selection Panel have named a 14-man squad for the three One-Day International matches against New Zealand that will comprise the Chappell-Hadlee trophy.

The first match is Sydney on 4 December, then Canberra and Melbourne on 6 and 9 December respectively.

Included in the Australian ODI squad for the first time is West Australian all-rounder Hilton Cartwright.

Interim Chairman of Selectors Trevor Hohns said: “Hilton bowls useful aggressive medium-pace and is a very good striker of the ball.

“He is an exciting young prospect for Australian cricket and we have been watching him at the pathway level for some time now.”

The squad sees the return to international cricket for New South Wales’ pace-bowler Pat Cummins following an injury lay-off.


Hohns added: “It is fantastic to see Pat back in Australian colours again. It has been a frustrating period for him but we are certainly excited to have him fit and firing ahead of this series.”

A player from the 14-man squad may be released prior to the first ODI to play in the Sheffield Shield round beginning on 6 December.

The squad will assemble in Sydney on 30 November.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), George Bailey, Hilton Cartwright, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Travis Hea, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Glen Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.