CSA announce changes to Sri lanka tour


Cricket South Africa have expressed their gratitude to Sri Lanka Cricket for accepting the proposed changes to the itinerary for Sri Lanka’s tour to South Africa during the 2016-17 season.

The tour will consist of three Test matches, five ODIs and three T20 International matches.

The major change sees the tour starting 10 days later in mid-December with the Test match at the Wanderers Stadium being moved from December to mid-January.

CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat, explained the changes: "The changes resulted from market research indicating that a Test match would work a lot better in Johannesburg during January, plus our desire to keep the first half of December free for the Ram Slam T20 Challenge so that all our Proteas can participate in the tournament.

"In future years we will design our schedules accordingly."

Revised itinerary:

December 18 – 20 Three-Day Tour match, SA Invitation XI, Senwes Park, Potchefstroom
December 26-30 1st Test match, St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
January 02-06 2nd Test match, PPC Newlands, Cape Town
January, 12-16 3rd Test match, Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
January 20 1st T20 International, D/N, SuperSport Park, Centurion (Day/Night @ 18:00)
January 22 2nd T20 International, D/N, Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Day @ 14:30)
January 25 3rd T20 International, Day, PPC Newlands, Cape Town (Day/Night @ 18:00)
January 28 1st ODI, Day, St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth (Day @ 10:00)
February 1 2nd ODI, Day, Sahara Stadium Kingsmead, Durban (Day/Night @ 13:30)
February 4 3rd ODI, D/N, Bidvest Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Day/Night @ 13:30)
February 7 4th ODI, Day, PPC Newlands, Cape Town (Day/Night @ 13:30)
February 10 5th ODI, D/N, SuperSport Park, Centurion (Day/Night @ 13:30)