CSA Announce Women’s Emerging Squad


Cricket South Africa have announced the South African squad for the Emerging Woman’s Triangular Series against England Women’s Academy and Australia’s Shooting Stars.

The 13-player team includes all-rounders, Anneke Bosch and Zintle Mali from North West and Border respectively, who have previously been selected for the Proteas side and a host of players who impressed for their provinces during the 2017/2018 season.

All matches are scheduled to take place in Pretoria at the Groenkloof and Assupol Tuks Ovals with the final taking place at Irene Country Club.

The young squad will be coached by Western Province Women’s coach Cobus Roodt, who will be assisted by former Proteas all-rounder Dinesha Devnarain.

“We believe that we are prepared for the Tri-series,” Roodt said after the squad was announced. “We have worked hard and made good progress, but at the same time we go directly to a high-level competition against some of the best young teams in women’s cricket.”

“This series will allow these players to experience cricket at a different level and will play an important role in their ongoing development as future national players. The plan is to obviously win our games, but also to extend the pool of Proteas players that will be able to compete when called upon.”

The first match of the series will take place on Tuesday, 10 April where the South Africa Emerging squad will see off the England Women Academy at the Groenkloof Oval.

South Africa Emerging team: Zintle Mali (Border), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Sarah Smith (Western Province), Andrie Steyn (Western Province), Faye Tunnicliffe (Boland), Nonkululeko Thabethe (Gauteng), Gandhi Jafta (Border), Anneke Bosch (North West), Sinalo Jafta (North West), Nadine de Klerk (Northerns), Odine Kirsten (Northerns), Lara Goodall ( Western Province), Robyn Appels (Western Province).

Management: Cobus Roodt (Head Coach), Dinesha Devnarain (Assistant Coach), Mduduzi Mbatha (Fitness Trainer), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physio).