CSA send 14 players to India for spin camp


Cricket South Africa have announced a squad of eight spin bowlers and six batsmen to attend a spin bowling course in Mumbai, India, from 14 to 21 May.

The eight selected spin bowlers are: Bjorn Fortuin (Lions), Simon Harmer (Warriors), George Linde (Cape Cobras), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Tshepo Ntuli (Knights), Aaron Phangiso (Lions), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Prenelan Subrayen (Dolphins).

"The programme has been one of the major features on the CSA HP Skills Programme and has been held annually either in India or Sri Lanka," commented CSA High Performance Manager, Vinnie Barnes.

"Simon Harmer, Dane Piedt, Prenalen Subrayen and Keshav Maharaj who have been on previous spin camps, have seen the benefits of working with top Indian spin coaches."

"It has also become quite an important initiative to improve our batsmen techniques and game plans against spin. Temba Bavuma, Rilee Rossouw and Stiaan van Zyl are some of the batsmen who have credited their improvement of batting against spin to the spin camp," he added.

The selected batsmen are: Temba Bavuma (Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Titans), Smangaliso Nhlebela (KZN Inland), Hector Ngobeni (Limpopo), Stiaan van Zyl (Cape Cobras), Dane Vilas (Cape Cobras).

Both Nhlebela and Ngobeni have been identified through the CSA Franchise Regional Academy system.

The group will be accompanied by CSA batting consultant, HD Ackerman, and CSA spin bowling consultant, Claude Henderson.