Dates for England tour to India confirmed


England will play five Tests in India at the end of this year, the BCCI have confirmed, which will be the first five-match series between the sides in Asia in 30 years.

The series, which starts in Rajkot on 9 November, will see five games played between then and 20 December, after which they will play three ODIs and three T20s.

As it stands, talk of one of the Tests being a day-night game seem premature, as all five Tests have scheduled start times of 9:30am.

ECB director Andrew Strauss said of the tour: "This promises to be a historic Test series.

"It's the first five Test rubber England have played in India since 1984-85 and a great opportunity for Alastair Cook and his players to repeat the memorable Test series win we enjoyed on our last trip to India in 2012. 

"Equally, Eoin Morgan’s white-ball squad will be anticipating hard-fought and competitive encounters against high quality opposition in both formats – with the one-day series providing excellent preparation for the ICC Champions Trophy to come at home later in the summer of 2017."


November 9-13 – First Test, Rajkot 
November 17-21 – Second Test, Vishakapatnam  
November 26-30 – Third Test, Mohali 
December 8-12 – Fourth Test, Mumbai 
December 16-20 – Fifth Test, Chennai 


January 15 – First ODI, Pune  
January  19 – Second ODI, Cuttack    
January 22 – Third ODI, Kolkata  


January 26 – First T20, Kanpur 
January 29 – Second T20, Nagpur 
February 1 – Third T20, Bangalore