De Villiers named Cricketer of the Year


Wicketkeeper-batsman AB de Villiers was named Cricketer of the Year at Wednesday's Cricket South Africa awards in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Wicketkeeper-batsman AB de Villiers was named Cricketer of the Year at Wednesday's Cricket South Africa awards in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

De Villiers also won the Test Cricketer of the Year, Players' Player of the Year and Fans' Player of the Year accolades, while the young Quinton de Kock and leg-spinner Imran Tahir were named ODI Cricketer of the Year and T20I Cricketer of the Year respectively.

"This has been another great year of wonderful achievements for our top players," said CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

"AB's statistics are sheer class and speak for themselves. He is the world's best batsman, ranked number one in Test match cricket and number two in ODI cricket.

"But that only tells a part of his amazing skills. He has always been an entertainer and innovator par excellence while at the same time he has the ability to dig really deep in pressure situations.

"We are proud of the scale of his achievements and, more importantly, the manner in which he does it. He is an exceptionally talented cricketer who always adapts to the needs of the team.

"Our Proteas have again displayed true world-class performances in the past year and I salute not only the award winners but all of them for a year of great performances. The fact that there were as many as five worthy candidates for the top award speaks volumes."

All-rounder Justin Ontong, meanwhile, secured the First-class cricketer of the Season award. The hard-hitting Heino Kuhn, the left-handed David Miller, fast bowler Kyle Abbott were named One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season, T20 Player of the Season and Domestic Players' Player of the Season respectively.

Abbott also clinched the South African Cricket Association's Most Valuable Player accolade, while Kingsmead's Wilson Ngobese cherished the Groundsman of the Year trophy. The Dolphins' Lance Klusener enjoyed the Coach of the Year prize.

"I warmly congratulate all our winners including the likes of our umpires, grounds staff and scorers, without whose contribution the game cannot be played," added Lorgat. "Our domestic cricket remains blessed with great talents and congratulations to all the winners in that category."

<b>Full list of awards</b><br>Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers<br>Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers<br>ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock<br>T20I Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir<br>Players' Player of the Year: AB de Villiers<br>Fans' Player of the Year: AB de Villiers<br>Women's Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp<br>First-class cricketer of the Season: Justin Ontong<br>One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Heino Kuhn<br>T20 Player of the Season: David Miller<br>Coach of the Year: Lance Klusener<br>Domestic Players' Player of the Season: Kyle Abbott<br>CSA Fair Play Award: Dolphins<br>SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Kyle Abbott<br>Groundsman of the Year: Wilson Ngobese