Duminy named Proteas T20I captain

Batsman JP Duminy has been named South Africa’s Twenty20 International captain for November’s three-match series against Australia.

Regular skipper Faf du Plessis – alongside a slew of other senior players like fast bowler Dale Steyn, batsman Hashim Amla and wicketkeeper-batsman AB de Villiers – have been rested.

The uncapped Kagiso Rabada, Reeza Hendricks and Rilee Rossouw have been included. Batsman Rossouw showed plenty of promise at ODI level during the recent tri-series against Zimbabwe and Australia in Harare, while seamer Rabada and opener Hendricks have secured fine stretches of form at domestic first-class and List A level.

Batsman Farhaan Behardien, all-rounder David Wiese and fast bowler Marchant de Lange, have been recalled. De Lange has not played the shortest format of the international game since February 2012.

“We have decided to rest some of our core senior players who are involved in all three formats,” said Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson. “It is the only opportunity we have to ease their workload in what is going to be a very busy and intense summer season.”

“All three, Kagiso, Reeza and Rilee, have done well for South Africa A and Rossouw recently made his international ODI debut as well. Kagiso has done very well at under-19 level and we all know he has amazing ability and talent.

“He spent some time with the squad up in Zimbabwe, where he had a feel of the Proteas set-up. And the feedback has been really positive, particularly from Russell Domingo, to say that he really feels Kagiso has got something special. So it’s an opportunity to expose him.”

All-rounder Vernon Philander, meanwhile, has returned to the ODI squad to tour New Zealand and Australia. Philander missed the tri-series at the Harare Sports Club due to injury – but has since recovered.

T20I Squad: JP Duminy, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese.

ODI Squad: AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.