England to host India for five-Test series


The England and Wales Cricket Board have confirmed a five-Test series against India, which will get underway in July 2014.

The England and Wales Cricket Board have confirmed a five-Test series against India, which will get underway in July 2014.

The tour will also feature five ODIs and a one-off Twenty20 International – as well as warm-up fixtures against Leicestershire, <a href='http://www.derbyshireccc.com/dccc/index.php/news-and-features/news-headlines/1044-derbyshire-secures-july-date-with-india' target='_blank' class='instorylink'><b>Derbyshire</b></a> and Middlesex.

Trent Bridge in Nottingham, Lord's in London, The Rose Bowl in Southampton, Old Trafford in Manchester and The Oval in London will host Tests one, two, three four and five respectively. <a href='http://www.betfair.com/sport/cricket' target='_blank' class='instorylink'><b>Latest odds</b></a> suggest the twin London venues will yield the most competition.

"We anticipate significant demand for tickets both for the Test series, and for ODI series which will be the first encounter between these two countries in the 50-over format since <a href='http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cricket/23015551' target='_blank' class='instorylink'><b>India's triumph</b></a> in the final of the Champions Trophy at Edgbaston earlier this year," said ECB chief executive David Collier.

"The length of the series reflects the iconic status which contests between these two great cricketing nations now enjoy. We thank the BCCI for their support and also our international venues who between them helped bring a record number of spectators – more than 850,000 – to international cricket over the course of the season when India last toured here in 2011."

The English and Indians have not met for a five-Test series since 1959, when Colin Cowdrey's men trounced Datta Gaekwad's tourists five-nil. Alastair Cook's men beat Mahendra Singh Dhoni's troops two-one to oblige Betfair stakes last year.

<b>England v India 2014 itinerary:</b><br>First Test: Trent Bridge, 9 to 13 July<br>Second Test: Lord's, 17 to 21 July<br>Third Test: Rose Bowl, 27 to 31 July<br>Fourth Test: Old Trafford, 7 to 11 August<br>Fifth Test: The Oval, 15 to 19 August<br>

First ODI: Bristol, 25 August<br>Second ODI: Sophia Gardens, 27 August<br>Third ODI: Trent Bridge, 30 August<br>Fourth ODI: Edgbaston, 2 September<br>Fifth ODI: Headlingley, 5 September<br>

Twenty20 International: Edgbaston, 7 September