Fraser denies conflict over Finn's action

England

England selector and Middlesex director Angus Fraser says that while there may be slight differences of opinion, he has not been in conflict with England's bowling coaches about paceman Steve Finn's action.

England selector and Middlesex director Angus Fraser says that while there may be slight differences of opinion, he has not been in conflict with England's bowling coaches about paceman Steve Finn's action.

Finn was sent home from the tour to Australia after 11 weeks, after his action became so problematic that he could not be picked for a match. He was sent home to work on the issue with Middlesex, and Fraser thinks he has done well to recover.

Fraser said of Finn's recent warm-up matches: "He's making his way back and making some decent progress. One of the problems Steven had has is trying to get ready by A, B, C or D.

"When you do that you're not curing the long-term problem, you're just tarting it up. I don't want Steven to be put in a position where suddenly people start saying 'When are you going to be playing for England?', and that plays on his mind."

Some felt that England bowling coach David Saker had made too many changes to Finn's action, and that the shortened run up they tried was a big failure. Fraser said they had discussed the changes, and while they didn't always agree, there was no major conflict.

He said: "You've got a bloke here who's six foot seven and bowls at 90mph, we're not going to get him to pitch it up and swing it away. There's been a bit of creative interpretation.

"We have slightly different views on different things. Coaches are going to have slightly different views. But there's been no battle. We've had good communications with David Saker.

"All right, sometimes David might have slightly different views as to what we do, but it's not as though we're fighting or ranting and raving."

One question that came up was whether Finn's tendency to knock the stumps over with his knee when bowling caused the initial problems. South Africa captain Graeme Smith first complained about it, and since then such an occurrence has been ruled a no-ball.

The coach continued: "He [Finn] doesn't think it is, but I do wonder if it was the knee hitting the stumps [that caused his problems]. South Africa did a job on him there, to be honest.

"All of a sudden something as trivial as that becomes a big story and the laws of the game have to be changed, and suddenly as a bowler you think I've got to try and rectify that."

Latest