Gul, Ajmal dropped from Pakistan ODI squad

Pakistan have not included bowlers Umar Gul and Saeed Ajmal in their 16-man squad for the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe which starts on Tuesday in Lahore.

The series will see the return of allrounder Shoaib Malik and seamer Mohammad Sami, with both not being involved in the Pakistan 50-overs format for multiple years.

Sami has not played an ODI since 2012, when he featured against Sri Lanka, but has had a solid domestic campaign taking 19 wickets at an average of 23.

Malik, who last played an ODI two years ago, is recalled having struck a century and five fifties in 12 domestic List A matches at an average of 50.36.

Fawad Alam, Saad Nasim, Sami Aslam, Zulfiqar Babar, Rahat Ali along with Gul and Ajmal have lost their places from the team that lost a series three-nil to Bangladesh last month.

Pakistan ODI squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Anwar Ali, Hammad Azam, Imad Wasim, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Sami, Junaid Khan