ICC to elect a new chairperson by December 2020


The International Cricket Council’s (ICC) board have confirmed the process for the election of its next chairperson is underway and is expected to be concluded by early December.

Imran Khwaja had served as the interim chair of the ICC since June when Shashank Manohar stepped down following two terms in the role.

ICC to appoint chairperson by December

The ICC has reiterated that only directors or former directors may serve in the role of chairman.

Since the last overhaul of their constitution, the role has effectively been reduced to that of a symbolic figurehead with little actual power in comparison to the former office of president.

In 2016, the position of the president was abolished, with the Chairman and CEO head of the Executive Council. Manohar has so far been the only man to hold the position permanently.

“The process, which is being overseen by the Independent Chairman of the ICC Audit Committee, has commenced and the first stage is for the nominations of potential candidates to be made by current Board Directors by 18 October 2020,” an ICC press release earlier this week read.

“Any nominee will then need to be seconded by another Board Director to become a candidate in the election.  

“As outlined in the ICC Constitution, to be eligible, potential candidates must be either a current or former ICC Director.”

The candidates

Candidates for the role are believed to include Khwaja as well as BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and former chairman of the England Cricket Board Colin Graves and former CWI head Dave Cameron.

Ganguly’s bid has been supported by a number of prominent former cricketers eager to see the organisation headed by a qualified former player rather than somebody from an administrative background.

The former India captain earned the support of Proteas Director of Cricket Graeme Smith, although the CSA board immediately made it clear that Smith did not speak for them.

The ICC last held elections for the position in 2016, when Manohar was elected to his first term through a secret ballot. In 2018, Manohar retained the job for a second term after he was elected having run unopposed.