India name ODI squad to face England


India have named an 18-player squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against England with three uncapped players included in the group.

Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya and Prasidh Krishna will all be hoping to make their ODI debuts in the series set to be played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. Suryakumar scored a 31-ball 57 in his maiden T20I innings against England, while Krunal has played 18 T20Is. Krishna, a seamer from Karnataka, is yet to represent India in any format.

Captain Virat Kohli is joined by senior stars Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan in anchoring the top-order.

Pant and Rahul are wicketkeepers

Left out of their ODI squad for the tour of Australia, Rishabh Pant has been named alongside KL Rahul as the group’s two wicket-keepers. Having recently reclaimed his spot in the T20I side, Pant will be eying a first ODI since January last year. The explosive left-hander is the better keeper between the two but Rahul would bat a little further up the order.

Also returning to ODI action is Bhuvneshwar Kumar, whose most recent ODI was in 2019, thanks largely to a run of injuries.

Competition for selection across the disciplines will be fierce. Alongside Kohli, Sharma and Dhawan, specialist batsmen Suryakumar, Shreyas Iyer, and Shubman Gill have all been picked. Further to that, both Pant and Rahul could be picked in the XI, with one sacrificing the keepers’ gloves.

Showing their depth

The squad is not short on all-rounders either, with Hardik Pandya joining brother Krunal in the squad alongside Washington Sundar.

Sundar and Krunal both shape as additional spin-bowling options for the side, alongside specialist tweakers Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

Bhuvneshwar, T Natarajan, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur will all be vying for the right to grab the new ball.

The three-match ODI series starts on 23 March.

India Squad

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur.