India rest Kohli for T20I series against SL


Virat Kohli has been rested for India's three-match T20I series at home against Sri Lanka, while spinner Pawan Negi received his first call up to the national side.

Kohli, who is the top-ranked batsman in the shortest format, was in scintillating form in the recent series against Australia as he slammed 199 runs in the three games, including fifties in all of them.

Rishi Dhawan, Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Umesh Yadav have ben dropped for the Sri Lanka series while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ajinkya Rahane both return after missing the matches in Australia because of injury.

A 23 year-old left-arm spinner, Negi is also a useful lower-order batsman and played under Dhoni for the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League in 2014.

The series against Sri Lanka is scheduled to start in Pune on 9 February, while the remaining games will take place in Ranchi and Visakhapatnam on 12 and 14 February respectively

India T20I Squad: MS Dhoni (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi.