IPL team profile: Chennai Super Kings

Team: Chennai Super Kings

Captain: Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Coach: Stephen Fleming

IPL Best: Winners 2010, 2011

Overview: The Super Kings are always one of the favoured teams to lift the trophy. They have three players that have been with team since the tournament started in 2008, namely captain MS Dhoni, batsman Suresh Raina and spinner Ravi Ashwin.

They are a team that sets high standards, and would want to make up for the disappointment of last season where they last in the knock-outs to Kings XI Punjab.

Key Batsman: Suresh Raina. The India international has a remarkable record in the competition. He has not missed a single game for the Super Kings since 2008. He is also the competition's overall top run-scorer with 3325 in 115 matches.

He usually bats at number three or number four. He is a great player of spin bowling and once he is set, he can really up his strike-rate in the latter overs of the innings.

Key Bowler: The key bowler for the Super Kings would be a toss up between West Indian Dwayne Bravo and spinner Ravi Ashwin. Bravo is an experienced campaigner who thrives at bowling at the death.

But we have to say the most important bowler is Ashwin. He provides Dhoni with the control in the middle-overs and also has the knack of picking up important wickets.

Likely Benchwarmer: West Indies spinner Samuel Badree will struggle to get time on the pitch. The Super Kings should have two quality spinner in the starting team in Ravindra Jadeja and Ashwin.

With only four international players allowed to be in the playing eleven, Badree will most likely carry the drinks, unless there are some serious injuries.

They Said: Mike Hussey: "Wow, the squad looks as good as it's ever been. There have been some great signings in the last couple of years like Nehra, Smith, McCullum and Pathan."

Squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Ashish Nehra, Baba Aparajith, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Francois du Plessis, Ishwar Pandey,Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Mohit Sharma, Pawan Negi, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Samuel Badree, Suresh Raina, Ronit More, Michael Hussey, Rahul Sharma, Kyle Abbott, Ankush Bains, Irfan Pathan, Pratyush Singh, Andrew Tye, Eklavya Dwivedi


Friday April 18: vs Kings XI Punjab
Monday April 21: vs Delhi Daredevils
Wednesday April 23: vs Rajasthan Royals
Friday April 25: vs Mumbai Indians
Sunday April 27: vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Friday May 2: Kolkata Knight Riders
Monday May 5: Chennai Super Kings
Wednesday May 7: Kings XI Punjab
Saturday May 10: Mumbai Indians
Tueday May 13: Rajasthan Royals
Sunday May 18: Royal Challengers Bangalore
Tuesday May 20: Kolkata Knight Riders
Thursday May 22: Sunrisers Hyderabad
Saturday May 24: Royal Challengers Bangalore