IPL team profile: Rajasthan Royals

Team: Rajasthan Royals

Captain: Shane Watson        

Coach: Paddy Upton

IPL Best: Winners 2008

Overview: The Rajasthan Royals have always been a team that is happy to slip under the radar and let the opposition be the favourites. That's how they won the very first edition of the IPL under Shane Warne in 2008.

They do however possess potential match-winners in their squad, mostly Australians. Skipper Shane Watson, batsman Steve Smith and all-rounder James Faulkner should all make sure opposing teams are at there best if they want to beat the Rajasthan.

Key Batsman: Steve Smith is probably the form batsman in the world at the moment. The Australian will bat in the middle-order and will look to anchor the innings. Smith will look to continue his prolific form from the other two formats. He tore India apart in the Test series and then was Australia's best batsman in the World Cup, which they won. And if something happens Watson, Smith can captain too.

Key Bowler: It has to be the player that got the man of the match award in the World Cup final, James Faulkner. He has can bowl all sorts of deliveries, slower balls from the back and front of his hand. Faulkner recently declared that he would like to make Australia's Test side. Rajasthan would hope that he puts his long format ambitions to one side so they can have the best of him in this tournament.

Likely Benchwarmer: Despite the withdrawal of Aussie Kane Richardson, South Africa seamer Juan 'Rusty' Theron will find it difficult to break into a side that has solid bowling attack. Apart from Faulkner and Watson, they can also call on Ben Cutting, Tim Southee and Chris Morris.

They Said: Kane Richardson (twitter): "Sadly will be missing this years IPL due to personal reasons. Thanks to the @rajasthanroyals for their support. Good luck! #AlwaysARoyal"

Squad: Shane Watson (C), Stuart Binny, James Faulkner, Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson (W), Steve Smith, Rajat Bhatia, Tim Southee, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Kane Richardson, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Deepak Hooda, Dishant Yagnik, Vikramjeet Malik, Ankit Sharma, Rahul Tewatia, Pravin Tambe, Chris Morris, Dinesh Salunkhe, Juan Theron, Pradeep Sahu, Barinder Saran, Sagar Trivedi


Friday April 10th vs Kings XI Punjab
Sunday 12th April vs Delhi Daredevils
Tuesday 14th Apri vs Mumbai Indians
Thursday 16th April vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunday 19th April vs Chennai Super Kings
Tuesday 21st April vs Kings XI Punjab
Friday 24th April vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Sunday 26th April vs Kolkata Knight Riders
Wednesday 29th April vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Friday 1st May vs Mumbai Indians
Sunday 3rd May vs Delhi Daredevils
Thursday 7th May vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunday 10th May vs Chennai Super Kings
Saturday 16th May vs Kolkata Knight Riders