Ireland name 15-man squad for World Cup

2015 World Cup

There were no real surprises as Ireland named there final 15-man squad for the World Cup, which takes place in Australia and New Zealand, starting on the 14 February.

The only notable absentee was seam bowler Max Sorensen who has featured heavily across all formats since making his debut more than two years ago.

The selectors have instead decided to call on uncapped pace bowler Peter Chase after he made a strong impression for English County side Durham during the latter stages of the County season.

The squad will be captained by batsman William Porterfield and will be in Pool B at the showpiece event, alongside South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe and the UAE.

Ireland's first match at the tournament will on the 16 February against the West Indies at the Saxton Oval in Nelson, New Zealand.

Squad: William Porterfield (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien (wk), Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson (wk), Craig Young