Kohli to miss tri-series in Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli will miss the T20I triangular series in Sri Lanka that also features Bangladesh with Rohit Sharma set to lead the team.

The squad will be without many of the established members of the T20I XI including the skipper.

MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya will both also be rested while the pace duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah that tormented South Africa will also get to put their feet up for a spell.

Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj and Vijay Shankar have all earned call-ups to a team that will have Shikhar Dhawan as its vice-captain.

Sundar made his T20I debut in the home series against Sri Lanka last year, Hooda was also in the squad but went unused.

Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur will lead the bowling attack that also includes seamer Siraj though on evidence of their displays in South Africa the former duo are likely to make up the seam specialists.

ALSO READ: What the Proteas gained from the T20 loss

Pant has been in terrific form with the bat and will also serve as backup for wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik.

Chief selector MSK Prasad confirmed that Dhoni had requested a break, saying: “We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for the Nidahas Trophy.

“The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury.

“MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest.”

Suresh Raina and Manish Pandey were rewarded for their performances against the Proteas and retain their places.

India Squad: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-capt), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant