KP adds name to Pakistan Super League


Former England batsman and T20 world traveller Kevin Pietersen has become the latest big name to sign up for the inaugural Pakistan Super League, which will be played in February next year.

Pietersen joins the likes of Chris Gayle, Shakib-al-Hasan, Grant Elliott and Angelo Mathews in the player pool, and they will be put up for auction to be part of one of the five teams.

Pietersen said in a video during the PSL launch: "Absolutely buzzing to be a part of the Pakistani mela (event) coming up in February. I can't wait to get it started.

"It looks like it is going to be a wonderful competition. Lots of fun, lots of sixes, lots of wickets, typical T20 stuff.

"I am really excited to be a part of this wonderful tournament and excited to get going. I will see you guys soon."

There will be teams from Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar and Quetta, and the tournament will last just 20 days, from 4 to 24 February 2016.

The tournament is set to be played in the United Arab Emirates, though Qatar has also been mentioned.

Players signed up for the draft so far:

Australia: Brad Hodge

England: Kevin Pietersen, Ravi Bopara, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Chris Jordan

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Jason Holder

New Zealand: Jesse Ryder, Grant Elliott, James Franklin

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera

South Africa: Johan Botha