KP loses out on bid to line up against England


Former England batsman Kevin Pietersen will not get the chance to play against his former team-mates after he was not included in the Australia Prime Minister's XI to take on England at the Manuka Oval on 14 January.

The match will form part of England's preparation for an ODI tri-series that also involves hosts Australia and India and the upcoming World Cup tournament, which begins on the 14 February.

Mike Hussey was initially selected in the team as captain, but pulled out due to a calf injury and his place was given to Australia Test opener Chris Rogers. Pietersen put his hand up to be included in the playing eleven, while playing in the Australian T20 Big Bash League.

New England ODI captain Eoin Morgan thought that Pietersen's attempt to play against them was a rather 'ambitions' effort.

Morgan said: I think it was very ambitious. It's a hugely prestigious game, for the Prime Minister's XI. To give an opportunity to somebody who is not Australian is pretty ambitious.

"When sides tour England and we put out Lions teams we give opportunities to our youngest and best. I don't think it would have spiced up the game at all. It doesn't really bother me."

Prime Minister Tony Abbott said: "It is disappointing that Mike Hussey won't be available to take his place as captain on Wednesday but I wish him a speedy recovery from his injury.

"I am pleased that Chris Rogers has accepted the invitation to take Mike's place as captain. Chris has a wealth of international and domestic experience and after a successful Test series he is well placed to lead the team."

Rogers said: "It's a great honour for me to be selected as captain of the Prime Minister's XI to take on England. This is an important fixture on the Australian cricketing calendar and is steeped in tradition.

"I'm looking forward to following in the footsteps of Ricky Ponting, Brett Lee and others in leading this PM's XI under lights at Manuka Oval."

The Prime Minister's XI includes fast bowler Pat Cummins and allrounder Glen Maxwell, who were both named in Australia's final 15-man World Cup squad.