Major changes for SL ahead of World T20


The Sri Lanka squad for the World T20 has undergone some major changes on the eve of their departure for the global tournament in India, including a change of captain.

Angelo Mathews has taken over the leadership of the side after Lasith Malinga stepped down due to a knee injury, but the fast bowler will with remain with the squad for the event.

Two other changes sees batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and paceman Suranga Lakmal added to the squad in place of Jeffrey Vandersay and Niroshan Dickwella.

The left-handed Thirimanne was a shock exclusion from the initial squad but a new selection panel, headed by legend Kumar Sangakkara, was quick to add the 26-year-old to the team list.

Thirimanne, who has played 23 Tests, 107 ODIs and 22 T20Is, will also bring some much needed experience to a squad that is struggling in that department since the retirements of Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.

The defending World T20 champions have struggled to put a run of decent results together as they ended above only the Associate side, the UAE, in the recent Asia Cup in Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Suranga Lakmal