Malaysia, Denmark and Jersey all win on Day 1 of WCL Division 4

The hosts Malaysia beat Uganda by nine runs on the first day of the ICC World Cricket League Division 4 in Kuala Lumpar, where the top two teams will qualify for ICC World Cricket League Division 3.

In the day’s other matches Denmark secured an emphatic eight-wicket win over Bermuda at the Royal Selangor Club, and Jersey beat Vanuatu by seven wickets at UKM Cricket Oval.

Malaysia v Uganda

After batting first at Kinrara Oval, Malaysia produced a last-over victory against Uganda, eventually emerging victorious by nine runs. After the opening wickets of Virandeep Singh (3) and Anwar Arudin (9) fell cheaply thanks to some good bowling from Uganda, the hosts’ middle-order then brought them into a strong position with Suhan Alagaratnam and Ahmed Faiz making crucial runs. Alagaratnam (61, 85b, 3×4, 2×6) and Faiz (50, 82b, 6×4) with support from Muhamad Syahadat (27), took Malaysia to 208 all out in 49.3 overs. Uganda’s Riazat Ali Shah took four wickets for 24 runs in 7.3 overs.

Chasing 209 for victory, Uganda lost regular wickets, with Malaysia’s Muhamad Syahadat (4-21) taking them at important times. Riazat Ali Shah (28) and Fred Achelam (36) made important contributions to keep Uganda in the hunt. Needing 10 runs for victory off the last over with one wicket to spare, Deusdedit Muhumuza (38, 88b, 2×4) was run out by Shafiq Sharif, handing victory to the hosts by nine runs.

Denmark v Bermuda

Denmark’s Freddie Klokker was the standout performer of the day with the tournament’s first century, as the European side beat Bermuda by eight wickets. Bermuda batted first with wicketkeeper-batsman and opener Okera Bascome top-scoring with 63 runs from 41 balls including six fours and four sixes. Tre Manders (40, 56b, 3×4) and Charles Trott (36, 45b, 4×4, 1×6) contributed for Bermuda to get them to 209 all out in 47.5 overs. Bashir Shah for Denmark was the standout bowler, claiming three wickets for 17 runs.

Klokker and captain Hamid Shah then led Denmark to an emphatic eight-wicket victory. Klokker’s unbeaten 108 from 130 balls included eight fours and a six, while Shah’s 48* from 59 balls featured two fours and one six, the Danes securing the win in 41.5 overs with only two wickets lost.

Jersey v Vanuatu

Ben Stevens of Jersey put in an excellent bowling performance, taking four wickets for 12 runs in seven overs to lead Jersey to a seven-wicket victory. Vanuatu batting first were bowled out for 104 runs in 36 overs. Shane Deitz, who top-scored with 36 runs from 73 balls, Patrick Matautaava (20) and Joshua Rasu (16) were the only batsmen reach double figures.

In the chase, the partnership of Jersey’s Nathaniel Watkins (36 not out, 84b, 3×4) and Nicholas Ferraby (28 not out, 47b, 4×4) helped the European side to an opening day’s win. For Vanuatu Jelany Chilia took three wickets for 30 runs.

Scores in brief:

Malaysia beat Uganda by nine runs at Kinrara Oval
Malaysia 208 all out, 49.3 overs (Suhan Alagaratnam 61, Ahmed Faiz 50; Riazat Ali Shah 4-24)
Uganda 199 all out, 49.1 overs (Deusdedit Muhumuza 38, Fred Achelam 36; Muhamad Syahadat 4-21)

Denmark beat Bermuda by eight wickets at Royal Selangor Club
Bermuda 209 all out, 47.5 overs (Okera Bascome 63, Tre Manders 40; Bashir Shah 3-17)
Denmark 212-2, 41.5 overs (Freddie Klokker 108 not out, Hamid Shah 48 not out; Rendall Robinson 2-43)

Jersey beat Vanuatu by seven wickets at UKM Cricket Oval
Vanuatu 104 all out, 36 overs (Shane Deitz 36, Patrick Matautaava 20; Ben Stevens 4-12)
Jersey 105-3, 31.1 overs (Nathaniel Watkins 36, Nicholas Ferraby 28 not out; Jelany Chilia 3-30)

ICC World Cricket League Division 4 standings

Team Played Won Lost Points NNR
Jersey 1 1 0 2 1.289
Denmark 1 1 0 2 0.888
Malaysia 1 1 0 2 0.180
Uganda 1 0 1 0 -0.180
Bermuda 1 0 1 0 -0.888
Vanuatu 1 0 1 0 -1.289


Upcoming matches:

30 April: Malaysia v Vanuatu (Kinrara Cricket Oval); Denmark v Jersey (Royal Selangor Club); Uganda v Bermuda (UKM Cricket Oval)

1 May: Rest/Reserve

2 May: Bermuda v Jersey (Kinrara Cricket Oval); Uganda v Vanuatu (Royal Selangor Club); Malaysia v Denmark (UKM Cricket Oval)

3 May: Uganda v Denmark (Kinrara Cricket Oval); Malaysia v Jersey (Royal Selangor Club); Bermuda v Vanuatu (UKM Cricket Oval)

4 May: Rest/Reserve

5 May: Denmark v Vanuatu (Kinrara Cricket Oval); Malaysia v Bermuda (Royal Selangor Club); Uganda v Jersey (UKM Cricket Oval)

6 May: Final (Kinrara Cricket Oval); 3rd v 4th Playoff (Royal Selangor Club); 5th v 6th Playoff (UKM Cricket Oval)