Malinga returns to lead defending champions


Captain Lasith Malinga and allrounder Angelo Mathews have been included in Sri Lanka's squad for the upcoming World T20 having recovered from their various injuries.

Both players missed the recent three-match T20I series in India while veteran spinner Rangana Herath and seamer Nuwan Kulasekara return to the 15-man list that will also do duty in the Asia Cup.

There was no place for promising fast bowler Kasun Rajitha, who impressed against India, with Malinga, Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera and Thisara Perera carrying the seam bowling duties.

Herath is joined by fellow specialist spinner Sachithra Senanayake with allrounders Milinda Siriwardana and Shehan Jayasuriya offering other slow bowling options.

Opener Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal and Mathews will be heavily relied upon to score the runs as the rest of the batters lack international experience.

Sri Lanka are defending champions of the World T20, having won the tournament in Bangladesh in 2014.

Squad: Lasith Malinga (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay