Marnus up to third in ICC batting rankings, Stokes enters top 10

Marnus Labuschagne 100 Australia New Zealand Sydney PA

Marnus Labuschagne is up to third in the ICC Test batting rankings after continuing his astonishing run of form with a double century against New Zealand at Sydney, while Ben Stokes climbs to 10th after his part in England’s Cape Town victory.

Labuschagne, who was 110th at the start of 2019, now sits behind only all-time greats Virat Kohli and Steve Smith in the current charts after making 215 and 59 at the SCG.

That concluded a stunning series and summer for Australia’s number three; he made 549 runs in the three Tests against New Zealand and 896 across the season if you throw in the two games against Pakistan.

Stokes is in the top 10 for the second time in his career, jumping from 15th after making 47 and 72 to set up England’s thrilling final-day win. Dom Sibley has roared up the table from 167th to 80th after his maiden Test century in the second innings.

Mitchell Starc is back in the top five of the Test bowling rankings, while James Anderson’s seven wickets in Cape Town see him back into the top 10 at number seven after his injury problems.

Stokes also climbs to 27th, but remains third in the all-rounder rankings behind Jason Holder and Ravindra Jadeja despite his Cape Town heroics.

MRF Tyres ICC Test Batting Rankings Top 10

  1. Virat Kohli (Ind) 928
  2. Steve Smith (Aus) 911
  3. Marnus Labuschagne (Aus) 827
  4. Kane Williamson (NZ) 814
  5. David Warner (Aus) 793
  6. Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind) 791
  7. Babar Azam (Pak) 767
  8. Joe Root (Eng) 761
  9. Ajinkya Rahane (Ind) 759
  10. Ben Stokes (Eng) 708

MRF Tyres ICC Test Bowling Rankings Top 10

  1. Pat Cummins (Aus) 914
  2. Neil Wagner (NZ) 852
  3. Jason Holder (WI) 830
  4. Kagiso Rabada (SA) 821
  5. Mitchell Starc (Aus) 796
  6. Jasprit Bumrah (Ind) 794
  7. James Anderson (Eng) 791
  8. Vernon Philander (SA) 786
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind) 772
  10. Mohammed Shami (Ind) 771

MRF Tyres ICC Test All-Rounder Rankings Top 5

  1. Jason Holder (WI) 473
  2. Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) 406
  3. Ben Stokes (Eng) 395
  4. Vernon Philander (SA) 337
  5. Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)  308