Mathews would Mankad again if needed

England

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews says he would allow the Mankad of Jos Buttler again if he had a choice, and that he does not regret the incident in the 2014 series when Sachithra Senanayake ran Buttler out.

England's Buttler had been warned more than once about stealing ground, so when spinner Senanayake appealed for the Mankad, Mathews refused to withdraw the appeal. England skipper Alastair Cook was quite annoyed, calling it 'a pretty poor act'.

But Mathews feels there was nothing wrong with how his side acted, and while he is not actively looking for the Mankad, he would do it again if needed. He did say that he would 'probably' warn the batsman.

Mathews said ahead of the ODI series between the sides: "You face challenging moments in life. Being in the hot seat is not easy. Sometimes you have to make those hard decisions, unfortunately I had to make that.

"I still stand by it, because we warned him twice before. That's all we could possibly do at that time.

"We are not looking forward to doing the Mankading. We will play our cricket within the rules. If someone is trying to take advantage of the rules then we will probably warn him.

"But the Test series was played in very good spirit, so hopefully we'll play the ODI series in very good spirit, too."

Latest