Mitchell Johnson: By the Numbers


Australia paceman Mitchell Johnson, who is one of the most devastating fast bowlers of his era, has retired from international cricket. We take a look at some of his important numbers.

1 – Johnson made his Test debut against Sri Lanka in Brisbane in 2007, taking four wickets in the match as Australia won by an innings and 40 runs.

2 – He took 50 Test wickets in a calender year twice in his career. First in 2008 when he took 63 wickets while he repeated the feat the following year.

3 – Johnson ended his Test career with 10 wickets in a match on three occasions. The first of which came against South Africa in Perth in December 2008 when he claimed figures of eight for 61 in the first innings and three for 98.

12 – The left-armer took 12 five-wicket hauls in the his Test career.

29 – It took Johnson 29 Tests before he claimed his maiden five-wicket in Test cricket, recording figures of five for 39 against New Zealand at the Gabba.

37 – The paceman took 37 wickets in the 2013/2014 Ashes campaign at home against England as Australia won the series five-nil. He won the man-of-the-series award.

73 – He played 73 Tests for Australia over a nine year period.

87 – England was Johnson's favourite opponent as he bagged 87 wickets against them while South Africa came in second with 64 scalps.

The 34 year-old's least favourite opposition of the bigger nations was Pakistan as he only took 21 wickets against the Asian side.

12/127 – Johnson's best bowling figures in a match came against the Proteas at Supersport Park in Centurion in 2014. Australia won the match by 281 runs.

123* – His highest Test score. While not known as genuine allrounder, Johnson was a useful batsman in the lower-order for the Aussies, hitting his only Test century against South Africa at Newlands in 2009.

313 – He is fourth on the list of Australia's top wicket-takers in Test cricket with 313 scalps, behind only Shane Warne (708), Glenn McGrath (563) and Dennis Lillee (355).

2009 – In July 2009 Johnson won the prestigious ICC cricketer of the year award for the first time. He won the award again in 2014.

Nasri Alexander