New Zealand call up Young squad for Bangladesh T20s

Kane Williamson New Zealand captain PA

New Zealand have called up Will Young and Finn Allen for the upcoming three-match T20 series against Bangladesh.

This is because six of the regular Kiwi internationals will be absent since they are participating in the Indian Premier League, which starts next month.

Regular captain Kane Williamson have recovered from the wrist injury which ruled him out of the ongoing ODI series against the same opponents but has been rested with a view to the IPL, along with five others.

In his absence, Tim Southee will lead the T20 squad.

While the 21-year-old Allen is uncapped, Young made his Test and ODI debut earlier this season and was once again called up for the T20s.

New Zealand bench strength put to the test

“It’s certainly been a season like no other and once again we’ve had to be pragmatic in our approach,” selector Gavin Larsen said in a statement to the press, ahead of the T20 series starting on Sunday.

“The six guys who will miss this series are incumbents in our T20 side and the decision to give them some time at home with family before they embark on a long stint in India, was principally made with their welfare in mind.”

Whilst not having the likes of Jimmy Neesham and Williamson at his disposal, Larsen believes this series will test the players who are on the fringes of the regular first-team squad.

“We’re also very aware of the need to give others opportunities in a World Cup year and it’s great to be able to introduce Finn and Will to the set-up, as well as welcome back Lockie [Ferguson] and Adam [Milne].”

New Zealand T20 squad: Tim Southee (captain), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Will Young