No tri-series for Hughes

Australia have named a 14-man squad for the one-day international series against South Africa and hosts Zimbabwe which gets under way later this month.

Batsman Phil Hughes has been omitted from Australia's squad for this month's ODI tri-series with Zimbabwe and South Africa.

Hughes enjoyed a formidable stretch of form in the A side's limited-overs series against India A and South Africa A, including a record-breaking 202 not out and two half-centuries.

"We would have loved to pick Phillip, but it's quite difficult to find the spot for him with a strong batting line-up. He was in superb form during the recent Australia A one-day matches, including a standout double-century. We will certainly be continuing to watch him closely," said chairman of selectors Rod Marsh.

All-rounders Mitchell Marsh and Ben Cutting have been included, while fast bowler Kane Richardson has been recalled. Test spinner Nathan Lyon, too, has been afforded the opportunity to build a burgeoning ODI career.

"Nathan has done very well in Test match cricket, but first came under notice through his performances in short form cricket. Ben has been in terrific form for Australia A and bowled his heart out. He also showed outstanding form in the RYOBI Cup competition last summer and has earned his spot," added Marsh.

"Kane has been bowling beautifully up in Darwin under Mark Waugh's watch and his figures have been terrific. We now want to see him continue that form for the national side.

"The thing we like most about Mitchell at the moment is his bowling. He's capable of opening the bowling or coming on through the middle overs and can do so with good pace which is pleasing.

"It's the sign of a true all-rounder if they can be in the side for either their bowling or batting and he is certainly getting close to that, which is great for Australian cricket."

The tri-series will be played at the Harare Sports Club between 25 August and 6 September.

<b>Squad:</b> Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Shane Watson.