Pakistan name team to face World XI


The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq has selected 16-member squad for Pakistan’s Independence Cup clashes against the World XI. 

The three-match T-20I series would commence from September 12, 2017 with the remaining two matches scheduled to take place on September 13 and September 15, 2017 respectively at Gaddafi stadium, Lahore.

Fast bowler Sohail Khan earns a recall to the T20I team having last played an international in the shortest format back in 2011.

Fahim Ashraf is the only player in the squad yet to earn a T20I appearance although he has turned out in a single ODI.

Inzamam said of the team: “The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in the domestic and international tours.

“The players’ consists of a combination of the fine blend of youth and senior players. Fahim Ashraf, Ruman Raees, and Aamer Yamin make a place in the squad due to their splendid performance in the domestic tournaments, whereas Sohail Khan makes a comeback.

“It would be good for the young players to get a chance to play on the home ground and perform in front of the local public.

Pakistan squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (Captain – WK), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Baber Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umer Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Amir Yamin, Muhammad Amir, Ruman Raees, Usman Shinwari, Sohail Khan.