Perry and Mooney cap fine year with awards


Australia cricketers Ellyse Perry and Beth Mooney have been recognized for their outstanding performances across the last 12 months in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) annual awards.

Perry, 27, has been awarded the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for Cricketer of the Year. The award has been re-named in memory of the late Rachael Heyhoe Flint, former England captain and one of the pioneers of women’s cricket.

Perry made history in November when she compiled an unbeaten 213, the highest Test score by an Australian woman, surpassing Karen Rolton’s 209* against England in 2001. She also finishes the year as the number one ranked all-rounder in One Day Internationals and the second ranked ODI batsman.

Beth Mooney has been named T20 Player of the Year and Emerging Player of the Year, having continued the form that saw her named WBBL|02 Player of the Tournament.

Mooney was at her destructive best opening the batting for Australia, the 23-year-old posting unbeaten scores of 86 and 117 in the Twenty20 leg of the Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series.

Perry has also been named in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year alongside injured Australian captain Meg Lanning, whilst Mooney has been included as opening batter and wicketkeeper in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year, along with bowling duo Megan Schutt and Amanda-Jade Wellington.

ALSO READ: Satterthwaite named player of the year

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Tammy Beaumont (England)
2. Meg Lanning (Australia)
3. Mithali Raj (India)
4, Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)
5. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
6. Heather Knight (captain) (England)
7. Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England)
8. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
9. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
10. Ekta Bisht (India)
11. Alex Hartley (England)

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Beth Mooney (wicketkeeper) (Australia)
2. Danni Wyatt (England)
3. Harmanpreet Kaur (India)
4. Stafanie Taylor (captain) (Windies)
5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
6. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
7. Hayley Matthews (Windies)
8. Megan Schutt (Australia)
9. Amanda-Jade Wellington (Australia)
10. Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand)
11. Ekta Bisht (India)

The two sides were selected by the same panel, which had voted for the annual individual awards, and included former Australian cricketers Mel Jones and Lisa Sthalekar as well as Sports Editor of the Age, Chloe Saltau. The panel took into consideration player performances from 21 September 2016 to early December 2017.

Cricket Australia’s Chief Executive Officer, James Sutherland, congratulated the award winners.

“This is an outstanding recognition for Ellyse. In her 10th season representing Australia, it comes as no surprise that someone with the qualities that Ellyse possesses has received the award in Rachael’s honour.

“Rachael was a pioneer in the women’s game, having played in the first ever women’s match at Lord’s against Australia in 1976, and she formulated the concept of a Women’s Cricket World Cup, two years ahead of the first men’s tournament.

“Like Ellyse, Beth has also excelled at different times throughout the past 12 months, more recently during the Women’s Ashes, and is a deserved winner of her award.

“Meg Lanning has had a tough year but showed some incredible leadership during the World Cup, playing through a lot of pain, while Megan and Amanda-Jade have been strong contributors with the ball.

“We are very fortunate to have such wonderful role models within the Australian Women’s Cricket Team and I look forward to seeing them continue to improve. The sky is the limit for this team.”