Philander back in Proteas ODI squad


All-rounder Vernon Philander has returned to South Africa’s ODI squad ahead of crucial series against New Zealand and Australia later this year.

Philander missed the recent tri-series against Zimbabwe and Australia at the Harare Sports Club due to injury – but has since recovered.

He has ostensibly replaced seamer Mthokozisi Shezi, who debuted in Harare. Left-armers Beuran Hendricks and Lonwabo Tsotsobe were not considered for selection due to respective back and ankle injuries. Fast bowler Kyle Abbott has been retained.

“We are very happy with the progress and momentum the team has established over the last couple of months, first in Sri Lanka and then in Zimbabwe,” said Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson.

The Proteas and Black Caps will meet for three ODIs – at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui – on 21, 24 and 27 October. Three Twenty20 Internationals and five ODIs against the Australians will follow.

“We have another 13 ODIs, three in New Zealand, five in Australia and five at home against the West Indies, before we head to the World Cup to round off our preparation,” added Hudson.

The uncapped Kagiso Rabada and Reeza Hendricks, meanwhile, have been named in the T20I touring party. Batsman JP Duminy has been named captain in the absence of the rested Faf du Plessis.

“JP has been named captain primarily because we’re resting Faf. He has had an enormous workload over the last couple of months, so we just felt a break for him would be good,” concluded Hudson.

ODI Squad: AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.

Squad: JP Duminy, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese.