Proteas gear up for Bangladesh with spinners camp


Cricket South Africa will be holding a specialist spin bowling camp next week at the Centre of Excellence in Pretoria, with a few Proteas players joining in to get some training in ahead of Bangladesh.

International players Aaron Phangiso, Temba Bavuma, Reeza Hendricks, and JP Duminy have decided to join the camp to get their cricket brains back into action after a long break, ahead of their trip to face the Tigers in early July.

Vinnie Barnes, CSA High Performance Manager, said: "This annual camp has particular significance this year.

"If one looks at our international fixture list for the second half of the year, we have the Castle Lager Proteas playing away Test Series in both Bangladesh and India while South Africa A will be playing both four-day unofficial Tests and a triangular one-day series in India.

"Spin bowling obviously plays an important part on the sub-continent so it is important that we prepare players properly, particularly those who have little or no experience of playing in that part of the world.

"The camp will also be attended by some of our less experienced batsmen who will be representing these various squads. Some of our Proteas batsmen have also asked to attend in preparation for the tour of Bangladesh.

"Our under-19 squad struggled during their recent tour to Bangladesh where they will be defending their ICC World title next year so we are also involving players at this level."

Invited participants

Spin bowlers: Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Ruben Klaasen (Northerns), Bjorn Fortuin (Gauteng), Tshepo Ntuli (Free State), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), George Linde (Cape Cobras), Shaun von Berg (The Unlimited Titans), Sean Whitehead (Free State/SA U-19), Ndudoza Mfoza (KZN Coastal/SA U-19), Tshepiso Ndwandwa (CSA Fort Hare Academy), Lizo Makhoso (EP Academy)

Batsmen: Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (Knights), Theunis de Bruyn (The Unlimited Titans), Omphile Ramela (Cape Cobras), Gihahn Cloete (Knights), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Rivaldo Moonsamy (Northerns/SA U-19), Dean Foxcroft (Northerns/SA U-19), Wiaan Mulder (Gauteng/SA U-19), Dayyaan Galiem (WP/SA U-19)


Spin bowling: Nicky Boje, Paul Adams

Batting: HD Ackerman, Neil Johnson