Wet weather ensures England’s Ashes warm-up match has to be abandoned

England Ashes

Play was abandoned on the third day of England’s warm-up match against England Lions in Brisbane due to rain.

England were due to resume on 98 without loss with Haseeb Hameed (53) and Rory Burns (39) at the crease.

Tuesday’s opening day was cut short in the second session at Wellington Point, and an early call was made to pull the second day on Wednesday after heavy rains on the Queensland coast.

The rain continued on Thursday, with the Australian Bureau of Meteorology recording almost five millimetres fallen between 9am (11pm London) and 12pm as the match was abandoned.

England’s Ashes squad members who were involved in the T20 World Cup have not been included in the warm-up fixture and will stay in quarantine for one more week.

Aussie pace guru Troy Cooley returns to England fold as consultant ahead of Ashes

The first Ashes Test at the Gabba starts on December 8 and the fifth and final Test is scheduled for Perth’s Optus Stadium on January 14.

Ashes squads

England squad:Joe Root (Captain), Ben Stokes, James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Australia Squad: Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Additional Australia A players: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street.

Ashes 2021/22 Schedule: Full list of fixtures
December 8-12, First Test – Gabba, Brisbane, 10am local/12am GMT
December 16-20, Second Test (Day/Night) – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, 2.30pm local/4am GMT
December 26-30, Third Test – MCG, Melbourne, 10.30am local/11.30pm GMT
January 5-9, Fourth Test – SCG, Sydney, 10.30am local/11.30pm GMT
January 14-18, Fifth Test – Optus Stadium, Perth, 10.30am local/2.30am GMT