Richardson pulls out of India series after Adelaide COVID-19 outbreak


Fast Bowler Kane Richardson has opted not to be removed from his home ahead of the white-ball section of the India tour pulling out of Australia’s squad.

Cricket Australia airlifted several players out of Adelaide after a small outbreak of coronavirus in the city’s northern suburbs while other players were forced to repair immediately to the Sydney quarantine site.

Richardson stays at home

Richardson has opted to stay at home with his wife and newborn son and will be replaced in the Australia squad by veteran seamer Andrew Tye.

“It was a difficult decision for Kane to make but one which has the complete support of the selectors and the entire playing squad,” national selector Trevor Hohns said.

“Kane wanted to remain in Adelaide with Nyki and their newborn son. We will always support our players and their families; even more so given the challenging environment we are in.

“We will miss what he brings to the team but completely understand and support his decision.”

Australia call on Tye

In Tye, Australia have called on an experienced campaigner whom they believe can still bring a lot to the table despite his recent struggles.

Tye played just one match for the star-studded Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League, finding opportunities limited by the presence of an in-form Jofra Archer.

The 33-year-old has played just one competitive match this year and recently lost his Western Australia domestic contract, but Hohns has backed him to do a job in Australian gold.

“AJ is incredibly skilled in both forms of the short game. He impressed in the UK with his high work ethic and his positive energy around the squad,” Hohns said. “He is a great player to be able to call on.”

Australia have also called WA batsmen D’Arcy Short and Josh Philippe into their training group although neither has been officially added to the squad.

India will take on Australia in a three-match ODI series that is scheduled to get underway on Friday 27 November at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The ODI series will be followed by three T20Is and the tour’s main course, a four-match Test series.