SA venues in contention to own new T20 league team


Cricket South Africa has confirmed that all 11 international accredited venues in the country will be in the running to become a host city venue for bidders seeking to own one of the eight city-based franchise teams for the new global league.

The inaugural edition of the league kicks off in November, with December 16 set to be the permanent date for the final every year.

The prospectus sent to prospective bidders lists all 11 venues available as a team base. These are Boland Park, Buffalo Park, Diamond Oval, Kingsmead, Mangaung Oval, Newlands, Senwes Park, SuperSport Park, St. George’s Park, Wanderers Stadium and Willowmoore Park.

“We are thrilled with the responses we are receiving from prospective team owners. No doubt this is a once in a lifetime opportunity for both bidder and city,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“Our new #T20 Global Destination League is aiming to create city rivalry across the country as we look to attract new audiences, especially the youth and families.

“While the level of private investment we expect will be new to South African sport, we are also very interested in the level of expertise that owners will bring to all levels of the game in South Africa.

“The eventual location of these franchises will be up to the bidders and the cities who see the opportunities to generate brand value and economic activity through the league.” concluded Mr. Lorgat.

In the event of more than one bidder seeking the same venue, an evaluation committee will assess the merits, including price, of the competing proposals.

The process of acquiring team ownership is presently underway with the closing date for bidder proposals being 28 April 2017.