Sammy loses WICB contract


Twenty20 International captain Darren Sammy, all-rounder Andre Russell and spinner Sulieman Benn have not been contracted by the West Indies Cricket Board for 2016.

Spinner Sunil Narine and Chris Gayle rejected contracts last year – and do not feature on the list this year. 

The veteran Shivnarine Chanderpaul and former skipper Dwayne Bravo, meanwhile, have also been excluded.

Quintet Jermaine Blackwood, Leon Johnson, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope and Rajendra Chandrika have been added.

Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo and fast bowlers Shannon Gabriel and Sheldon Cottrell have also gained contractual favour.