Sangakkara appointed on new SL selection panel


Sri Lanka sports minister Dayasiri Jayasekara has appointed a new set of selectors for the national side, which includes legends like Aravinda de Silva and Kumar Sangakkara.

De Silva will be the chief of selectors while Sangakkara will be joined on the panel by former national team players Romesh Kaluwitharana, Ranjith Madurasinghe and  Lalith Kaluperuma.

The revamp to the selection panel comes on the eve of Sri Lanka's departure for India to compete in the World T20, where they start their campaign against a qualifier in Kolkata on 16 March.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) released a statement saying that the change to the selection panel was because of the board's unhappiness with the squad chosen for the global tournament.

The SLC release said: "The appointment of the national selection committee was carried out by the sports minister, citing recent failures encountered by the national team in their tours to New Zealand, India, Asia Cup in Bangladesh and the inconsistency of selection criteria."

The new selectors have already made two changes to the squad with batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and fast bowler Suranga Lakmal included in the 15-man member list.