Sri Lanka appoint new selection panel


Sri Lanka have chosen a new selection panel with Asanka Gurusinha reappointed to his post after stepping down with the old regime.

The previous selection panel, headed by Sri Lanka great Sanath Jayasuriya, resigned after a humiliating home series against India, where the tourists won every single game that included three Tests, five ODIs and a one-off T20I.

The new selection panel will be chaired by former Sri Lanka seamer Graeme Labrooy while the remaining members are Gurusinha, former national team wicketkeeper Gamini Wickremasinghe and Sajith Fernando, who has no international experience but was a prolific allrounder at domestic level.

Gurusinha also fulfils the role of Sri Lanka team manager, team director and selector.

The first task for the new selection committee will be to select a squad for the two-match Test series against Pakistan in UAE, starting on 28 September.