Sri Lanka name revised squad for T20

Sri Lanka Cricket have issued a revised squad for their one-off T20I against India on Wednesday.

Legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay and seam-bowling allrounder Dasun Shanaka have been added to the group with batsman Kusal Mendis rested.

Sri Lanka can once again call on the services of their most consistent seamer for the last year Suranga Lakmal who has recovered from the injury sustained in the Test series.

The hosts will be hoping that senior quick Lasith Malinga rediscovers his best form in the shortest format of the game.

Akila Dananjaya may get another chance to impress after he proved to be the pick of the Sri Lanka bowlers through a disappointing 5-0 whitewash against Virat Kohli’s men.

ALSO READ: Tharanga rules himself out of Pakistan series

Vandersay, who hasn’t played a T20I since the World Twenty20 in 2016 is preferred ahead of the aggressive but often expensive left-arm wrist-spinner Lakshan Sandakan.

Upul Tharanga will lead the squad, the skipper announced that he would be taking a break from Test cricket for the next six months to focus on his white ball skills.

Angelo Mathews will have a big role to play as the most experienced batsman in the squad while this format has proven enjoyable for Niroshan Dickwella who starred in series wins over South Africa and Australia earlier this year.

Revised Sri Lanka squad: Upul Tharanga (capt), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilshan Munaweera, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Isuru Udana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Vikum Sanjaya