Smith confirmed to take part in Canada T20 League

Steve Smith

Disgraced former Australia captain Steve Smith will be one of 10 overseas marquee players in a Global T20 league in Canada that will start on 28 June.

Smith is currently serving a one-year ban for his part in the ball-tampering scandal on the tour to South Africa in March but the suspension only applies to Australia and their domestic competitions.

ALSO READ: Australia score new sponsorship deal after ball-tampering scandal

The BCCI took the decision to ban Smith from this season’s IPL but the tournament in Canada is set to be his first action since Cricket Australia handed down the sanction.

The other marquee names announced for the Canadian event include Australian Chris Lynn, Pakistani allrounder Shahid Afridi, Sri Lanka fast bowler Lasith Malinga and South African batsman David Miller.

There will also be five West Indies internationals taking part, including Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Darren Sammy and Dwayne Bravo.

In a statement released by tournament organisers on Friday, it said the competition will consist of six teams – five representing Canadian cities with a sixth, Cricket West Indies (CWI) representative team, consisting entirely of players from the Caribbean.

The other players punished for the ball-tampering incident – Cameron Bancroft and David Warner – had previously confirmed their comeback plans.

Bancroft was given dispensation to play in Western Australia’s Premier Cricket league while Warner is set to turn out for his Sydney club side Randwick Petersham.