Stokes named ICC cricketer of the year; gongs for Cummins, Rohit and obviously Kohli

Ben Stokes Headingley England Australia Ridiculous Ashes PA

Ben Stokes has been named men’s cricketer of the year in the International Cricket Council’s 2019 awards.

Stokes’ incredible performances in the World Cup, not least in the Lord’s final, and his unforgettable match-winning century in the Ashes Test at Headingley saw him land the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Accepting the award, voted for by members of the media and former players, Stokes said: “The past 12 months have been incredible for England cricket and to lift the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time was our greatest achievement.

“This award is testament to my team-mates and the support staff that have been there every step of the way. Fundamentally, without the support of these individuals, we would have never achieved our objective of lifting a major trophy.”

Stokes showcased his compelling all-round skills throughout the voting period, scoring 719 runs and taking 12 wickets in 20 one-day internationals as well 821 runs and 22 wickets in 11 Tests.

There were also several memorable catches, including his one-handed leaping effort in the World Cup curtain-raiser against South Africa.

The 28-year-old was also named in both ICC teams of the year. He was the only English representative in the Test XI, but was joined by wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler in the ODI side.

[jwplayer 1TUHcOl6-yceS9uXa]


Australia also fared well in the voting, with fast bowler Pat Cummins named Test player of the year for his best-in-class haul of 59 wickets and prolific batsman Marnus Labuschagne winning emerging player of the year.

India opener Rohit Sharma was ODI player of the year, having scored seven 50-overs centuries including five at the World Cup, while for some reason Virat Kohli was given a spirit of cricket award for telling fans not to boo Steve Smith.

England’s Richard Illingworth picked up the umpiring gong, Deepak Chahar’s spell of six for seven for India against Bangladesh was named best Twenty20 performance and Scotland captain Kyle Coetzer was recognised as associate cricketer of the year.

The women’s award winners were announced late last year, with the freakishly brilliant Ellyse Perry taking the cricketer and ODI cricketer of the year awards. Her Australia team-mate Alyssa Healy took the T20 honours.

ICC Men’s Award Winners 2019

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Best Cricketer of the Year: Ben Stokes (England)
Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)
ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India)
Associate Cricketer of the Year: Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)
T20 International Performance of the Year: Deepak Chahar (India)
Emerging Player of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
Umpire of the Year: Richard Illingworth (England)
Test Team of the Year: Mayank Agarwal (India), Tom Latham (New Zealand), Marnus Labuschagne (Australia), Virat Kohli (capt, India), Steve Smith (Australia), Ben Stokes (England), BJ Watling (wk, New Zealand), Pat Cummins (Australia), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Neil Wagner (New Zealand), Nathan Lyon (Australia).
ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India), Shai Hope (West Indies), Virat Kohli (capt, India), Babar Azam (Pakistan), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Ben Stokes (England), Jos Buttler (wk, England), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Mohammed Shami (India), Kuldeep Yadav (India).