T20 series preview: Pakistan v West Indies


Pakistan and the West Indies will nearly double their T20 stats over the next few days, as they play three matches to go with the four in the format they have contested over the years.

With only four matches played, the first in 2011, there’s not much to go on, especially as each side has won two T20s. This will be the first time the teams are playing in the UAE though.

New West Indies skipper Carlos Brathwaite will lead the World T20 holders in the Emirates, with the backing of senior players like Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, and Test skipper Jason Holder.

They are without some superstars though, as Chris Gayle and Andre Russell have withdrawn from the series. Gayle has been replaced by Evin Lewis, while Russell’s spot has been taken by Kesrick Williams.

Pakistan, meanwhile, will be captained by Sarfraz Ahmed, with no Shahid Afridi in the squad as he was not picked. It’s a mixed bag for the hosts, with experienced players and rookies needing to combine quickly.

Umar Akmal is back in the side after being rejected due to poor form and discipline earlier in the year. He’s made a comeback domestically, hence his recall. He is probably the most experienced batsman in the side, and will be looked to for the runs.

These two teams are the least predictable in world cricket, and betting on the outcome is nigh impossible. With both sides brilliant one day and diabolical the next, this series will probably go down to the third match.

Last Four Head-To-Head Results

2014 World T20: West Indies won by 24 runs in Dhaka
2013 Second T20: Pakistan won by 11 runs in Kingston
2013 First T20: Pakistan won by two wickets in Kingston
2011 Only T20: West Indies won by seven runs at Gros Islet


Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Rumman Raees, Saad Nasim, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams


First T20: 23 September in Dubai
Second T20: 24 September in Dubai
Third T20: 27 September in Abu Dhabi