The United States will co-host the T20 World Cup in 2024

In a historic first for the United States, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that the country will co-host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup along with the West Indies in 2024.

The tournament will feature 55 matches played across various stadiums in the U.S. and the West Indies from June 1-29.

 The opening match of the tournament will take place between Canada and the U.S. on June 1 in Dallas, while the grand finale will be held on June 29 in Barbados. The semi-finals will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana.

This is a significant moment for cricket fans in the United States, as the country has never hosted an ICC tournament before. The matches will be played in three different stadiums across the country: Central Broward Park in Lauderhill, Florida, Eisenhower Park in Nassau County, Long Island, and Grand Prairie Stadium in Grand Prairie, Texas.

Cricket has been played in the United States for over 200 years, but it has never been as popular as it is in other countries like India, Australia, and England. Still, the sport has been gaining traction in recent years, and the announcement of the Men’s T20 World Cup coming to the U.S. is a significant step forward for cricket in the country, sports betting sites available in the USA are already offering odds.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is a major international cricket tournament that takes place every two years. The tournament features teams from around the world playing in the T20 format, which is a shorter and more fast-paced version of the game. The T20 format has become increasingly popular in recent years, as it is well-suited to television audiences and is more accessible to new fans.

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will feature 20 teams split into four groups. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super Six phase of the tournament, where they will compete for a place in the semi-finals and ultimately the final.

The participating teams are as follows:

  • Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, USA, Canada
  • Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman
  • Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
  • Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

The tournament schedule has been released, and the matches will take place in various stadiums across the U.S. and the West Indies. The highly-anticipated clash between Pakistan and India will take place in New York City on June 9.

You can see the full schedule right below:

  • June 1: U.S. vs. Canada, Dallas
  • June 2: West Indies vs. Papua New Guinea, Guyana
  • June 2: Namibia vs. Oman, Barbados
  • June 3: Sri Lanka vs. South Africa, New York
  • June 3: Afghanistan vs. Uganda, Guyana
  • June 4: England vs. Scotland, Barbados
  • June 4: Netherlands vs. Nepal
  • June 5: India vs. Ireland, New York
  • June 5: Papua New Guinea vs. Uganda, Guyana
  • June 5: Australia vs. Oman, Barbados
  • June 6: U.S. vs. Pakistan, Dallas
  • June 6: Namibia vs. Scotland, Barbados
  • June 7: Canada vs. Ireland, New York
  • June 7: New Zealand vs. Afghanistan, Guyana
  • June 7: Sri Lanka vs. Bangladesh, Dallas
  • June 8: Netherlands vs. South Africa, New York
  • June 8: Australia vs. England, Barbados
  • June 8: West Indies vs. Uganda, Guyana
  • June 9: India vs. Pakistan, New York
  • June 9: Oman vs. Scotland, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 10: South Africa vs. Bangladesh, New York
  • June 11: Pakistan vs. Canada, New York
  • June 11: Sri Lanka vs. Nepal, Lauderhill
  • June 11: Australia vs. Namibia, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 12: U.S. vs India, New York
  • June 12: West Indies vs. New Zealand, Trinidad & Tobago
  • June 13: England vs. Oman, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 13: Bangladesh vs. Netherlands, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 13: Afghanistan vs. Papua New Guinea, Trinidad & Tobago
  • June 14: U.S. vs Ireland, Lauderhill
  • June 14: South Africa vs. Nepal, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 14: New Zealand vs. Uganda, Trinidad & Tobago
  • June 15: Australia vs. Scotland, Saint Lucia
  • June 15: India vs. Canada, Lauderhill
  • June 15: Namibia vs. England, Antigua
  • June 16: Pakistan vs. Ireland, Lauderhill
  • June 16: Bangladesh vs. Nepal, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 16: Sri Lanka vs. Netherlands, Saint Lucia
  • June 17: New Zealand vs. Papua New Guinea, Trinidad and Tobago
  • June 17: West Indies vs. Afghanistan, Saint Lucia
  • June 19: Qualifier, Antigua and Barbuda
  • June 19: Qualifier, Saint Lucia
  • June 20: Qualifier, Barbados
  • June 20: Qualifier, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 21: Qualifier, Saint Lucia
  • June 21: Qualifier, Barbados
  • June 22: Qualifier, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 22: Qualifier, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 23: Qualifier, Barbados
  • June 23: Qualifier, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 24: Qualifier, Saint Lucia
  • June 24: Qualifier, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 26: Semi-final 1, Trinidad and Tobago
  • June 27: Semi-final 2, Guyana
  • June 29: Final, Barbados

 Defending champions England will be looking to retain their title after beating Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup final in Melbourne. The 2024 tournament will also mark first appearances for Canada, the USA, and Uganda at a Men’s T20 World Cup.

The USA Cricket Association has been working hard to promote the sport and build a fan base in the country. The organization has been working to improve cricket facilities across the nation and has also been investing in youth programs.

Cricket fans in the United States have been eagerly anticipating the announcement of the Men’s T20 World Cup coming to the country.  The development marks a major boost for cricket in this part of the world. The tournament will provide a platform for the sport to be showcased to a wider audience in the United States and could help to attract new fans to the game.

 The tournament will provide a unique opportunity for fans to see some of the best cricket players in the world compete on American soil, and it could help to spark a new wave of interest in the sport.