Third Test preview: Pakistan v West Indies


Barring the tremendous late rally from the West Indies in the first Test the men from the Caribbean have been flat against Pakistan throughout their tour in the UAE.

While Bangladesh and England put on a tremendous show of what Test cricket can be this series seems to serve only to highlight what is wrong with the game.

The West Indies are out of their depth and we are likely to see Pakistan roll over them in almost mechanical fashion in this Test.

The WICB has to shoulder the blame for the bulk of this having fired a popular coach on the eve of the tour for incredibly vague reasons and seemingly going out of their way to alienate senior players on a regular basis.

The series has no context and generates little in the way of interest, Pakistan are a good team and deserve to play against opponents who offer some opposition.

Pakistan will want to complete the whitewash and take momentum into the rest of their season which includes a trip to Australia.

The pitch will turn and Devendra Bishoo and Roston Chase will be key if the visitor’s are to prevent Pakistan from batting them out of the Test yet again.

Yasir Shah looks set to continue his rise to the top of the game’s spinners and could move past Shane Warne as the all-time leading wicket-taker in Sharjah if he can grab six scalps.

Last five head to head results

2016 Second Test: Pakistan won by 133 runs in Abu Dhabi
2016 First Test: Pakistan won by 56 runs in Dubai
2011 Second Test Pakistan won by 196 runs in Basseterre
2011 First Test West Indies won by 40 runs in Providence
2006 Third Test Pakistan won by 199 runs in Karachi


Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Imran Khan, Younis Khan, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Sami Aslam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Babar Azam, Mohammad Nawaz

West Indies: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Leon Johnson, Alzarri Joseph, Marlon Samuels, Jomel Warrican.


Dates: 30 October to 3 November

Morning session: 10:00-12:00 (06:00-08:00 GMT)
Afternoon session: 12:40-14:40 (08:40-10:40 GMT)
Evening session: 15:00-17:00 (11:00-13:00 GMT)

Umpires: Michael Gough and Paul Reiffel