Tigers deny Oz the chance to face spinners


Australia's first assignment when they get to Bangladesh will be a tour match in Fatullah against a Bangladesh Cricket Board XI, but the Aussies will be frustrated by the lack of opposition spinners.

The BCB have named a 13-man squad for the match devoid of any front line slow bowlers, opting to keep their main weapons hidden from view, given the Aussies' traditional weakness against spin.

Instead, they've named a battery of fast bowlers, despite the pitch being one of the more docile on the circuit. They've also named a few Test players in the batting line up, including Imrul Kayes and Soumya Sarkar.

National selector Minhajul Abedin defended the spin decision, saying: "We are taking home advantage.

"Like any other touring side that comes to Bangladesh, we will make it challenging for Australia to play spin, which is our biggest area of strength.

"We have picked more batsmen because Australia has a good bowling attack."

BCB XI squad: Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haque, Mahmudul Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Naeem Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Kamrul Islam, Abu Jayed, Shafiul Islam