Two uncapped players in Zimbabwe Test squad


Ryan Burl and Blessing Muzarabani, both uncapped at Test level, have been included in Zimbabwe’s squad for the one-off, four-day, day/night Test against South Africa starting on Boxing Day.

The 21-year-old Muzarabani is fast bowler and made his first-class debut this season for the Rising Stars, taking 18 wickets at an average of 18.

The right-arm seamer will join senior pacemen Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu and the recalled Tedai Chatara, who has not played in the longest format since 2014, in the 15-man squad.

Burl, a 23 left-handed batsman, has already played nine ODIs and has batting average of more than 40 after 17 first-class games. including one hundred and nine fifties.

Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Michael Chinouya and Nyasha Mayavo have been dropped from the squad that lost the Test series at home against the West Indies last month.

The team will be led by leg-spinner Graeme Cremer and also includes batsman Brendan Taylor, who gave up his Kolpak contract with English county Nottinghamshire to return to international cricket.

Zimbabwe will play a three-day, day-night tour game against a Cricket South Africa XI at Boland Park from 20-22 December in preparation for the Test.

Zimbabwe Test squad: Graeme Cremer (capt), Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Regis Chakabva, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chisoro, Peter Moor, Solomon Mire, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu