Uncapped Richardson earns ODI call


Australia have named a 14-player squad for the five-match One-Day International series against England, starting in Melbourne on 14 January.

Western Australia seamer Jhye Richardson has earned a maiden call up to the squad while Chris Lynn and Tim Paine have earned recalls.

Commenting on the squad, National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “With our defence of the ICC Cricket World Cup just 17 months away, we are seeking to get a squad in place that can form the basis of the line-up for that campaign and at the same time regain ground in the ODI Rankings, given we have slipped from the number one position over the past 12 months.

“There will still be further opportunities for players to force their way into the reckoning for the squad to go to England and Wales in 2019 but the sooner we can settle on our best combination and get them playing together and in form on a regular basis then the better our chances will be of retaining the trophy we won at home in 2015.”

On Glenn Maxwell’s omission, Trevor Hohns said: “No-one is in any doubt about Glenn’s ability or his potential to produce match-winning contributions with the bat. What we have wanted from him is more consistency but in his past 20 matches in this format he has averaged 22 and we need more than that from a player in the side’s batting engine room.

“Glenn is still absolutely in our thoughts but for this series we have decided to look again at Chris Lynn, who is now back playing once more after the shoulder injury that hampered him when we picked him against Pakistan in this format 12 months ago. He has been one of the most feared players at domestic level in limited-overs cricket in the past couple of years and we want to see if he can convert that domestic form to the international stage.”

On Tim Paine’s inclusion ahead of Matthew Wade, he said: “Tim forced his way into the Twenty20 International squad last summer, and after coming back into the Test squad at the beginning of the Ashes series he has made a terrific contribution with bat and gloves. He deserves his opportunity in this form of the game and the challenge for Matthew is to return to the type of form that saw him score a One-Day International hundred against Pakistan last summer.

Commenting on the selection of the fast bowling trio of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Patrick Cummins, he said: “The three fast bowlers that made key contributions to us regaining The Ashes have all been included as we want to have some firepower with the ball during this Gillette ODI Series. However, at the same time, we are conscious that they have had heavy workloads during the Tests and so on that basis it is likely we will give each of them some deserved time off at different stages during this series.

“The good thing is we have plenty of depth in the fast bowling department in this squad, with Jhye Richardson and Andrew Tye also included.

“Jhye featured in the Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka last summer, is someone we have had our eyes on for a while and he is the complete package: he bowls with good pace, he has got good variations in short-form cricket, is a good fielder and is a handy batsman too. He was also the joint leading wicket-taker in the JLT One-Day Cup that Western Australia won at the start of the summer and so he fully deserves his spot.

“Andrew Tye is in outstanding limited-overs form as he is demonstrating in the KFC Big Bash League, is another player who did extremely well in the JLT One-Day Cup for Western Australia and merits his chance to try and cement a spot in the 50-over side after having played in the recent T20 International series in India.”

The squad will assemble in Melbourne on Wednesday 10 January with the practice schedule and media opportunities ahead of the opening match to be announced in due course.

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith, David Warner, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.