Veteran pace pair dropped from ODI squad


England have named their ODI squad for the series against New Zealand starting on 9 June, but have left James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Ian Bell, and Moeen Ali on the sidelines ahead of the Ashes.

Eoin Morgan has retained the captaincy despite a disastrous World Cup campaign, while Moeen has been told to return to Worcestershire to try and get some form back ahead of the Ashes. He took five wickets in two Tests against New Zealand.

There are some fresh faces in the squad, with Sam Billings, David Willey and Jason Roy retained after the washed-out Ireland ODI in May, and Steve Finn and Chris Jordan return to the set-up after missing the Tests.

England will hope that Ben Stokes, the man of the match in the first Test at Lord's, is able to carry his form into the one-dayers, as he is one of only four players in the squad that took part in the recent series.

ODI squad: Eoin Morgan, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steve Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, David Willey, Mark Wood